The Write-Away Contest hosted by Scribbit

SUNDAY NAP

Today after church, I slipped onto something more comfortable:  the living room couch, with a pile of blankets.

I have been doing this for a long time.  I had been raised to know that the only reason for being in bed in the daytime would be because you’re sick.  Besides, I would miss all the action (so-to-speak) if I were in another room.  So the living room couch is the place to be when taking a Sunday nap.

Lately, though, I’ve had competition.  My Older Son (who is a college commuter) has seen the appeal of the Sunday couch too, and there isn’t room for us both.

One Sunday, he grabbed it first and I had to make do with sitting up at the end of the couch and trying to sleep, which didn’t work all that well (not for me, anyway).

The next week, I leaped on at the same time and we wrangled each other from opposite ends-I kind of came out the loser on that one too, ending up with one leg on the couch and the other on a footstool.

It wistfully made me remember when he was so small and we slept on the couch snuggled together with his little face so close to my heart.  I wanted to gather him to me again, and breathe the same breath.

A large foot in the face is better than nothing.

